Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Valve adjustment questions. Help, please. (Read 140 times)
Chance
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Valve adjustment questions. Help, please.
06/22/19 at 09:04:30

I followed the the valve adjustment procedure per this site, but now I'm afraid I did it wrong.  Started the bike up and now it sounds like a ticking sound coming from the engine.  I remember a ticking, sewing-machine sound before the valve adjustment, but now it seems louder.  

I'm no mechanic, whatsoever.

2015 S40, Raptor petcock.
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: Valve adjustment questions. Help, please.
Reply #1 - 06/22/19 at 09:16:33

The ticking sound is important.
Otherwise the valves are too tight.
Did you put a 90 degree screwdriver in the adjuster to keep it from moving while you snugged the jam nut?
If the threads are sloppy, when you snug the nut it can increase the clearance between the cam and lifter by sucking the adjuster up, tight in the threads. Minimal change there, but if it's already on the loose side, it's just a bit looser.
What feeler gauge did you use?
Except for the ticking, how is it running?

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
Chance
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 06/22/19 at 09:28:35

No I did not put a 90 degree screwdriver in the adjuster.  I used 0.004 / 0.10 mm feeler gauge.

Seems to run fine, other than the ticking.  Haven't put it on the road yet, just started on the stand.

IP Logged
Chance
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #3 - 06/22/19 at 10:02:00