Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Lowering the front forks (Read 159 times)
peejster
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Seattle, WA
Lowering the front forks
01/22/19 at 15:06:34

I am new to motorcycles but I have decided to mod a 2003 Savage - what better way to learn in my opinion.

I have read a lot of threads and have seen most of the Ryca content including their video (and several others on YouTube) about lowering the front forks. Procedure wise, I totally get it.

But, I am trying to wrap my head around the impacts this lowering will have on the suspension. First, I assume you are now losing around 2" of travel - assuming I want to lower my front forks by two inches. Second, the spring is now somewhat more compressed - two more inches of compression than before.

Again, I said I am new to motorcycles in general including riding them, but I would imagine that this would mean:
A. you will bottom out the forks much more  often / easily? Or, is there still plenty of travel that you won't bottom out under normal conditions - i.e. it's got to be a huge pot hole before you bottom out.
B. the suspension will now be noticeably stiffer since you are starting from a point of more compression? Or, is the initial two inches of compression really not very noticeable?

Anyway, I plan to lower mine by about two inches. Ride it for a while to get a feel no matter what. But, just trying to understand a bit of what's actually going on.

Thanks!

2003 Suzuki LS650 with 2800 miles
  IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: Lowering the front forks
Reply #1 - 01/22/19 at 16:49:51