Send Topic Print
Carburator Issues (Read 45 times)
CheffJeff
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Carburator Issues
11/30/18 at 16:54:44

Hello! I'm very new to motorcycles and riding as a whole (got my license last week) so I'm making my first appearance here.

I've got a savage ls650 from '04 and it has been sitting and neglected most of it's life. I got the bike for free the guy was moving and didn't want to take the dead bike with him. It has 700 miles on it and I've made it my weekend project to get the bike running. I've been working on it on and off for the last month or so watching youtube videos and looking over the service manual for the bike. I'm 95% sure the carburetor is my issue on why the bike will not start and have it soaking in carb cleaner as I type this. And second issue being the tank is rusted on the interior so I have a tank resealing kit I've gotta get going. But

My question to you all is what kind of maintenance do you recommend for this bike after sitting for so long? So far I've replaced the oil, oil filter, fuses, and air filter. Question #2 what kind of failures is this bike prone to? I want to be on top of the maintenance for my bike.

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: Carburator Issues
Reply #1 - 11/30/18 at 17:48:00

Don't change the oil and filter until you get the bike running!  Oops - too late. (I believe it is always better to start an engine with a full oil system and get it running - then change the oil and filter after you have run the engine long enough to get the old oil warm).  Now that you have clean oil and a dry oil filter and housing.....no oil is going to flow through the engine bearings until the oil pump can pump enough oil to fill up the oil filter and passages - that is not a good thing for a bike that has been sitting for years.