Send Topic Print
90% water (Read 206 times)
jjthejetplane

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

90% water
07/03/18 at 10:15:07

Hi all,

I know my posts have become sporadic but I have been separated from my bike for about a yr. When I last posted, I was having clutch issues but unsure of how to diagnose them. I was a newb wrencher then.

Most recently, I have started the process of replacing my clutch assembly.

Background:
Drove the bike from DC to GA after a carb replacement,oil change, etc
Arrived in GA and got 2 flats, a week a park, decided to park the bike-noticed clutch slippage around this time ie no power to accelerate and began posting.

Today:
I work for Eaglerider/HD and have the ability to bring my bike to work to work on it.
I have it up on the lift and am now rehabbing her.

I have pulled the exhaust, clutch case cover, carb, battery, oil and air filters.

My air filter smelled of gasoline.
My oil filter needs replacing.
My oil pan which was drained a yr ago when I first open the clutch case was 90% full of water 10% oil.

At this moment, my stomach sank. I went to talk to the techs at Hellbender.
"There is sludge in my clutch case, rust on the top half of the gears, oil pan was full of water. Is my engine done? Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed"
I was told to pull the spark plug, run new oil, and start her up.

I am the only metric rider here. I trust his knowledge but I prefer the opinions of fellow savage enthusiasts. What should I do here guys?
My boss is preaching hellfire and brimstone,telling me that my bike may be done.
I have just ordered a complete clutch assembly and new tires. I really hate the idea that something more and much worse could be wrong.

Any steps for diagnostics?
Any suggestions to assuage my fears?

The bike is currently not running as I have pulled everything off to get it ready for the new clutch assembly and I want it to start properly the first time.