Send Topic Print
How low should I go? (Read 190 times)
ArkansasBrian

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Little Rock, AR
How low should I go?
01/13/18 at 12:13:55

I’m looking to get my first bike and I’m leaning heavily towards the Savage. I was supposed to be taking the BRC with my wife right now but the instructor delayed it (for the second time, but at least he told us before we got there this time) because Arkansans are weak and scared of the cold.

Anyway, I’ve been shopping what’s available online within a reasonable distance for a while, and have seen a range from the $450 bike in pieces but “I swear it runs, you just have to put it back together.” To the $5000 “I don’t understand that new bikes depreciate significantly as soon as they leave the lot”. I’m fairly mechanically inclined (do most of my own automotive work, have torn apart and reassembled chainsaws, gas-powered jackhammers, sheet metal machinery, am a welder by trade with some fab skills, currently working in Zoo maintenance).

I’m willing to go up to 3k-ish for the right bike (and am paying attention to LANCER’s bike in the marketplace as it’s on the way to the in-law’s House, well upgraded and likely well maintained), but I’d like to keep it lower. It’ is my first bike after all, and I don’t want to cry if I drop it. At the same time, I do want to actually ride it and not be stuck in a never-ending troubleshoot. I’m wondering what I’ll be regretting if I go cheapo on a fixer-upper, what I should look for/ be concerned about vs what I can probably fix without too much expense/difficulty. I know the exact answer is a personal balance and each bike is different, but any feedback would be appreciated!

Still looking...
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: How low should I go?
Reply #1 - 01/13/18 at 12:21:44

Get Lancers bike. DON'T drop it!

Seriously, even if you bounce it, you'll be able to fix that easy enough.
But Lancers stuff isn't