Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 ... 8
Send Topic Print
Another new toy, Another new forum... (Read 1117 times)
Christof13T

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Vicoria, Texas
Another new toy, Another new forum...
08/15/17 at 07:54:11

So a deal on a pretty clean 06 ls650 with 3700 or so miles on the clock fell in my lap. It had been purchased 2nd or 3rd hand about a year ago, tinkered with just enough to get it running... then ridden about 30 miles and parked. It sat in the weather untouched until I drained the varnish out of the fuel bowl and tank. I gave it some fresh fuel, set the petcock to prime till fuel ran out of the airbox. It fired up, to my amazement; immediately. I was able to ride it home (about 10 miles) with no problems per se` at cruising speeds, but it wanted to die trying to idle.

A little bit about me...
I'm a very seasoned mechanic, machinist, welder, blacksmith, and most recently taken up my hand as a beekeeper. I have pretty much all the tools and equipment in my garage to repair, rebuild, modify, or fabricate anything the mad scientist living behind my eyelids needs to set the robot apocalypse in motion.
I have plenty of experience with most assortments and configurations of internal combustion contraptions. The softest spot in my charcoal heart is for diesel, but I enjoy the intricacies of these small air cooled jobbers almost as much.
My forte` is diagnostic and forensic mechanics. I do so enjoy identifying and solving the root cause of a mechanical failure.

Back to the bike.

It has for certain been laid down on both sides in its life.
Minor dings and scrapes, busted foot pegs.
The turn signal posts all the way around need replacements.
Clear coat on the fenders is pretty badly oxidized.
Chrome is not in too bad of shape.
Some light oxidation on the aluminum all the way around.

The good...
Everything seems to work ok.
It pulls like a freight train.
Fairly decent mileage so far at 42mpg.