Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
New S40 Setup Tasks At Dealership? (Read 212 times)
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
New S40 Setup Tasks At Dealership?
06/18/17 at 06:19:35

Hi guys!

Does anyone have experience or knowledge of the condition of new S40s arriving at dealerships, and what is involved in "setup"?

I'm reading that most new bikes arrive at the dealership without their battery installed... is that the case with the S40? I'm also reading that many bikes require some assembly related to the handlebars... is that the case with the S40? Any bolts that are routinely checked/tightened? Other stuff needing to be assembled or inspected?

Thanks!

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: New S40 Setup Tasks At Dealership?
Reply #1 - 06/18/17 at 06:47:30

Dang if I know.. If I wanted to, I'd call the service department.
Why?

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Reply #2 - 06/18/17 at 07:32:09

I'm considering buying a new S40,  and I have never bought a new vehicle. So, I was doing some research about buying a new vehicle, and I came across information about fees. One of the fees I read about, was the set up fee. I was just curious what's involved with the set up of the bike. Does anybody have any first-hand knowledge of this?

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

Reply #3 - 06/18/17 at 07:57:05

Sounds like you're wanting to save the money and do it yourself.
You have more leverage standing there ready to buy.
I doubt they will go for it.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
Trippah
Serious Thumper