Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Mirror installation technique (Read 113 times)
catfishunter99
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

WI
Mirror installation technique
06/08/17 at 07:05:28

Ok guys don't beat me up too much for this question, I'm still new to the Savage.  I recently picked up a set of stock mirrors (thanks again Hamman) but am having trouble getting the proper orientation. On other bikes I've owned the lower mounting stud and mirror stem were separate but it does not appear to be the case on these.  When I spin them on just snug they face about 45° off.  Do I just need to use washers under them to get it right or is there a trick?

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: Mirror installation technique
Reply #1 - 06/08/17 at 07:07:53

Get the mirror close to where you want it and turn the part the wrench fits on While you prevent the mirror from moving .

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Reply #2 - 06/08/17 at 07:09:08

The nut is loose (or should be), and it is used to lock the mirror in place once you have it at the correct angle.

The nuts on your mirrors are either corroded into place, or they have been turned onto the shaft so far that they are tight on the area where the threads are not fully formed.

Put the mirror on the bike and use a wrench to turn the hex portion - if you can't get them to move apply some penetrating oil and try again after the oil has had a chance to loosen things up.

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
catfishunter99
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

WI
Reply #3 - 06/08/17 at 07:12:46

Thanks​!  I will give it a go, I just wanted to ask before applying too much force and ruining something.

IP Logged
IslandRoad
Serious Thumper

It doesn't vibrate,
it purrs!