Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Choke Type (Read 200 times)
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Choke Type
05/31/17 at 18:55:39

I'm reading "Motorcycle Basics Techbook" Haynes, 2nd Ed.

It's telling me that for cold starts "chokes" can either be:
1)"tickling" the float valve to get more fuel in the bowl (only on lawnmowers now)
2) "Cutting off" the Venturi.
3) Or supplying more fuel through a completely separate enrichment circuit.

I'm reading the tech/ref section, but I'm impatient. Can someone tell me which method our choke uses? Thanks. I'm guessing #2.

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
Steve H
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Spartanburg, SC
Re: Choke Type
Reply #1 - 05/31/17 at 19:09:34

Our choke is a separate enrichment circuit.

87 LS650, 2005 Ninja 250, 2009 Yamaha C3, 2001 Honda Reflex. On 2 wheels since 6/80.
  IP Logged
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Reply #2 - 05/31/17 at 19:37:36

Great. Thanks, Steve.

Wondering why I don't see a separate jet/nozzle in the fiche for that circuit. Something like a "starter jet".

Sorry if this is already on the list somewhere. I have skimmed the carb section of tech.ref, but I may have missed it. If someone knows where I can find it, then I wouldn't be offended if a link was provided rather than say what has already been said.

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Reply #3 - 05/31/17 at 19:40:33

I do see a "transient enrichment valve" though...

IP Logged
Kenny G
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com The
Singles Club...LOL

Robson Ranch, Denton, Texas
Reply #4 - 05/31/17 at 20:31:09

The Transient Enrichment Valve is on the opposite side of the carburetor from the choke.

I call it the brake pedal side of the bike.

Kenny G Undecided

IP Logged
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Reply #5 - 05/31/17 at 22:19:00

Yes, sir!