Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
More than one position on the Choke? (Read 256 times)
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
More than one position on the Choke?
05/12/17 at 14:10:29

Forgive me if this question has already been answered - I did a search but found no results...

It seems like there are multiple positions into which I can pull out the Choke - is that correct?

If so, why, and when would I use the different positions rather than just pulling it all the way out?
Thanks!

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: More than one position on the Choke?
Reply #1 - 05/12/17 at 14:17:10

Use the one that works for you.
I generally only go to the 1st notch, but on really cold days, full.

WWW   IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Reply #2 - 05/12/17 at 14:17:42

Yes, it has multiple positions.  You can pull it all the way out to start the bike (if you need to), then push it in a notch as it warms up....the push it all the way in when the bike will idle smoothly.  Just do whatever works for you.....if you don't ride in freezing weather you may never need to use Full Choke.

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
TheNaughtyLemur

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Carlsbad, CA
Reply #3 - 05/12/17 at 14:35:33

Each bike is different. Mine doesn't like any choke.

06 Suzuki S40 - 140/90-15 Rear Tyre - Raptor Petcock - MAC 2" Header and Exhaust Kit
  IP Logged
Andy RN

Eugene, OR
Reply #4 - 05/12/17 at 14:40:29

Great... thanks. On my bike, I usually have to pull it all the way out, otherwise it gets prematurely "sucked" back in while I'm riding. Does that happen to you guys too?

US Navy (99-03). Novice, self-taught mechanic. 2003 Savage with 44k miles. 2015 S-40 with 5k miles.
  IP Logged
Tocsik