Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Engine Noise: What is typical and what is not? (Read 339 times)
Lanz
YaBB Newbies

New Zealand
Engine Noise: What is typical and what is not?
03/27/17 at 23:23:47

First post! I have a 2014 LS650 (Canadian badge) that was sold NZ new and has only had 1 PO. The bike has currently 21780km on the clock. I bought it from the dealer that sold it new, with 17600km on the clock. They insist that it has been regularly serviced by them and has never missed a service interval. I have had some questionable experiences regarding this but they have done some free work for me to check things that I was concerned about and they always go by the book.

I have gone back to them numerous times with concerns about the amount of noise the engine makes once it heats up. It is dead silent when I first start the bike but once up to full operating temperature the noise from the engine is quote noticeable. The noise speeds up and slows down with the engine, but doesn't really increase in volume much. Seems to be more prevalent at certain RPMs. If I were to characterise the noise I would say "ticking" and "sewing machine". The noise seems to originate/sound the loudest near the front of the head on the left side of the bike. It has always seemed to come from there. It doesn't sound malicious, clunky, or like anything is knocking. The dealer insists that the bike is running fine and that the noise is nothing to worry about and normal for this type of engine.

The dealer did a valve adjustment for me when they were checking the spec of the cam chain, and said they loosened one of the exhaust valves as it was a wee bit too tight. The noise seemed louder, and to start happening earlier in the warm-up after this. Interestingly though, it actually seems quieter once full operating temp has been reached (i.e. after 100kph for an extended period).