Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Head cover bolt / threads fix suggestions (Read 57 times)
Wildmatt
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Head cover bolt / threads fix suggestions
03/08/16 at 09:28:59

Skip 2 second paragraph for short version
I'm new to the savage but not to wrench turning .
I recently bough two beautiful savages a 95 and 98 both in pieces
Previous owner said they were both his daily drivers at one point a few years ago ... he was a ss.com student and I heard the verslagen name before I gave him a dollar .. he was in the process of addressing the oil plug on the 98 and the 95 was opened to replace the ... cam chain tensioner (98has a verslavy )) . So I guess the  guy buys a 2cyl and leaves the savages well wrapped and organized( head cover pdf taped to a cardboard box only missing a few from each Smiley !!!
in  dad's garage 3+years  till I arrive ..so like I said   bikes are in pieces fenders taken off no worries .. I get into putting head cover back on the 90% complete 1998. Thats when i find a  broken bolt& extract it
I thats the kink that stopped the previous owner from proceeding ..
Or maybe this has some thing to do with it ? .

ANY way
The only L130 (the longest bolt )   in the whole stinking head cover is moderately stripped
Well its not actually the bolt it's the threads it goes into
It only catches without the washer in place and then only a bit
Also the threads on the screw contained pieces of the threads that were inside the head

When I remove the head cover
The threads seem to go deeper and leads me to think a longer screw is a good solution
However

I ask because it appears to be in an oil passage and obviously  I dont want to choke it out ..

Would a helix coil help ?
Are the screw lengths in mm?

Thanks ,wild matt

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: Head cover bolt / threads fix suggestions