Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
LED lighting questions , and hopefully, answers (Read 453 times)
Boogie_with_Stu

Look Ma, no hands!

Raleigh, NC
LED lighting questions , and hopefully, answers
09/30/15 at 00:03:55

I have worked with LEDs for over 15 years, both in the professional/industrial arena and as a hobbyist. When "super bright" LEDs first hit the mainstream consumer market I had already been working with them for years. While I am not an expert on the doping/manufacturing procedures, I do have a great deal of practical application experience with them.

I am building a setup in my workshop that will allow me to rate/test/evaluate all types of automotive/motorcycle light bulbs. From power consumption (actual wattage required to operate the bulb) to luminous intensity and even wavelength (color spectrum), I hope to find bulbs and /or manufacturers that can meet the needs of those who wish to use them here on the forums. Whether you plan to completely replace your existing incandescent bulbs with LED types....or simply wish to add additional lighting, This thread ought to provide at least some useful information.

My first testing will be to determine which LEDS are suitable replacements for our 8 watt "running lights". In other words, what rating does an LED have to have in order to compete with the standard 8 watt filament of a typical 1157 bulb. We all know that a standard 8 watt bulb is "daylight visible". My very early initial testing shows that if you put a 1.2-2 watt LED bulb behind a lens of the same color....the luminous intensity is nearly the same...meaning they are daylight visible.

I will also be posting links (ebay mostly) for actual bulbs that I have purchased and tested. While this is by no means a guarantee that all of the bulbs by that seller will be identical...it will at least provide some insight as to which manufacturers/sellers are worth looking into and which are not.