Idle too slow? (Read 68 times)
chasethorn
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Colorado Springs
Idle too slow?
08/15/15 at 20:35:22

After riding the bike for a while now I've noticed the idle sounds slower. Even today I was riding around for a few and started having issues where it would stutter and die at a stop at low rpm in neutral. This stopped after putting it on reserve for a second and then back to on with a full tank... Just so you know the bike has 5050 miles on it. No mods. I have not checked really much in this bike as I am uncertain on what to look at. I wonder if the idle has something to do with this? Not enough pressure? Here's a video so you can listen. This was after about 15 to 20 minutes of riding.

I am really new to motorcycles so does this sound normal??

One other question. My choke doesn't seem to work. It only works pushed in. If I pull it out the bike won't run. What's up with that?http://youtu.be/XVNuN-hGv0E

« Last Edit: 08/16/15 at 04:15:03 by Dave »  
  IP Logged
chzeckmate
Serious Thumper

Be the person your
dog thinks you are

Houston, Texas
Re: Idle to slow?
Reply #1 - 08/15/15 at 22:23:41

You're between 1050 - 1100 RPM there.  You doing just fine with that idle.

As for your choke, it's important to think about what the choke does.  Without the choke your air/fuel mix is pretty much constant, but when you use the choke you restrict the air in the mix by the degree to which you apply the choke, effectively making the mixture richer.  You're at 6,000 feet above sea level which means there is already less air for you than for someone right at sea level like me.  You're already rich, so when you apply the choke you make it really really rich.  I'd guess that's your problem.  There are instructions for tuning your carb around here.  You might end up going down a size or two on your pilot jet.