Send Topic Print
Riding in the rain? (Read 319 times)
Boogie_with_Stu

Look Ma, no hands!

Raleigh, NC
Riding in the rain?
08/08/15 at 20:05:19

Ok...let's get something out of the way first:

I have owned and ridden a Kawasaki KZ 550 for about 3 years out in Colorado....close to 25 yrs ago. I didnt start riding again until I bought my Savage back in May of this year. It's been in pieces for a month while I am driving a Honda CB250 Nighthawk. All told, I would guess that I have less than 3,500 miles driven on a motorcycle in my lifetime. I'm not a complete nooblet, but obviously not an expert in handling a bike in various conditions. With that being said...

...I drove a bike in the rain for the very first time last night. I didnt plan it that way...it was cloudy all day but no rain, the doppler radar in my riding area showed ZERO rain for 150 miles and a 5% chance of any precip at all in my area(I use the Raleigh RDU Aviation weather forecast instead of my local "news" weather). I took the Honda Nighthawk out for a ride at about 11PM like I do most every night when the weather is good. I do roughly 40-50 miles for practice and relaxation.

I got 22 miles from home when it just started raining. Not a downpour mind you, but it was a light steady rain. I am not embarrassed to admit I was a bit concerned. I had ZERO experience with wet pavement. None, nada, zip. There are few cars on the road in my rural community that late in the evening, so traffic wasnt an issue. I just didnt like the way the bike cornered at all. Long curves I might normally take at 45, I slowed it down to 30 or so and dropped a gear. The tires didnt feel like they were sticking to the road and I was worried about having the ass end slide out.
Once, while stopping for a red light, I had the front tire slip on me just a smidge. I immediately released the brake lever and re-applied it more gently...adding some rear brake as well (yes, I did drop 2 gears during the process of stopping).