Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
new to the forums and the Savage (Read 551 times)
Tomi
YaBB Newbies

Pas de voictoire
sans la guerre

Fairview Park, Ohio
Re: new to the forums and the Savage
Reply #30 - 05/31/15 at 08:07:53

Hey, boys.  I'm a newbie rider and Savage owner.  My 2006 had been stored/not ridden for at least nine months and ran the way you're describing - I actually laughed at the "can't tell the difference between a Civic and a semi" reference, because I had that, too.

Here are my personal observations so far:
    1. Changed the petcock to the Raptor.  IMMEDIATE improvement in performance - so much smoother - I was shocked!  Still does chug a bit when cold, but now the mirrors work properly.  
    2.  After studying the owners' manual and the newbie info on this forum, I realize that I was shifting too early.  It likes higher RPMs and I was just not used to them.  I am getting over my "clutch guilt" (used to a car's dry clutch) and becoming more comfortable riding it - which helps a LOT - as well as with shifting later.
    3.  I added Seafoam.  This happened at the same time as the petcock swap, so I don't know whether this is helping or not.  I've only ridden about 180 miles since starting the additive, but I'm hoping it smoothes out a bit more yet.

Good luck!

* Tomi

2006 S40, 11k, Raptor petcock, first 'cycle. Wish me luck!

"Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most."
  IP Logged
Daren
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Bartlett  NH / Boston MA
Reply #31 - 06/02/15 at 09:40:15

Thanks for all the info.

Yeah I replaced filter and oil. (I used Motorcycle Mobil 1 10W-40 Racing 4T, expensive but all I could find locally). Rotella T 15-40: is it "Shell Rotella T 15W-40 Heavy Duty Diesel Motor"? I did see it but I was not sure if this is for motorcycles and if its wet clutch safe.... Any additives need to be added to Rotella?