Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Sigh... tires (Read 248 times)
Drey
YaBB Newbies

Seattle, WA
Sigh... tires
04/10/15 at 22:50:24

I've read enough tire related threads to know this is a maybe too popular question. But I'm pretty new to riding (bought my 2009 S40 late last May) and I need new tires and a little help.

I commute on my bike everyday rain or shine and it's Seattle so more often than not it's rain. I rode about 2000 miles in 10 months and I plan to take a bunch of longer trips this summer so I imagine I'll put putting more than that on in the next few years.

My bank account, recommendations here, and reviews on other sites make me think the Shinko 712 is a pretty good buy. My question is should I be looking at something nicer like a Michelin Commander II instead? It's a good deal more money but is it worth it in the long run?

I'm more about safety than speed. Please oh wise ones, bestow your vast knowledge upon me. What would you get if you were me?

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: Sigh... tires
Reply #1 - 04/11/15 at 08:08:56

I do like my Shinko 712 but,... I ride in rain 2 or 3 times a year, and never on purpose...
Dunlop 404's or Kenda cruisers look to have more center tread cuts for water dispersal...
If I were a PNW rider I'd look for deep tread patterns down the center of the tires... It'll cost you in tread life, but push more water away...

We do have several PNW riders here... let them chime in before making a decision...
Wink...

...and, welcome to the site... Smiley...

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
botticelli

Custom Savage Build
Coming!

Boston
Reply #2 - 04/11/15 at 12:56:14

I will preface that I don't go out of my way to ride the savage in the rain.
It happens maybe 5-10 days a season for me when I ride to work and need to get home in the rain.

I use the Kenda Cruisers and have been satisfied with the wet performance.