Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Help please! Won't start and it's my only ride (Read 252 times)
savage_skulls_
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Hot Springs, Arkansas
Help please! Won't start and it's my only ride
02/27/15 at 23:29:55

Ok guys this may have already been asked and I'm a bit of a noob... but here goes. I've got an 03 savage and just broke the 5000 mile marker yesterday. Rode it home fine from work then back to store. Tried going out to start it later and it won't start. Killed the battery trying. It's also hard to move it from neutral to first now. I noticed toward the end of the battery that my clutch cable is frayed. Could this be the culprit?

An eye for an eye will make the whole world blind-Ghandi
  IP Logged
1st2know

Currently between
Savages

Seattle, WA
Re: Help please! Won't start and it's my only ride
Reply #1 - 02/28/15 at 00:10:12

Does the headlight come on? Full bright?
How did it behave when you were trying to start it? (lights dim, starter cranks, grunting noise)

Check to make sure the clutch is disengaged, kickstand down, in neutral.

Charge the battery. You may have to take the battery out to charge it (or at least expose it from the right side). Do you have multi-meter?

The clutch cable is frayed? By the lever or on the engine? Does the clutch lever operate freely, normally?

Kaw VN1700, V-Strom 650, Coal powered Chevy Spark.
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #2 - 02/28/15 at 00:22:35

5,000 miles and the clutch cable is messed up? Where? Can you see any reason for that?

Get the battery out,check water level, if low, fill with distilled, a good light behind the battery,to see the level, a fat syringe to fill it. If it's old, just get a new one,, Big Crank is a favorite among the Old Cranks who hang here.
How long have you had it and how many miles did you put on it?