Send Topic Print
kickstand scraping (Read 110 times)
Jeff71

I'm a bike noob!!!!!

South of Chicago, the suburbs
kickstand scraping
10/25/14 at 10:37:28

Hey gang,
The bottom of my kickstand is scraping up the driveway. (Before the sly comments; Yes, when it is parked and yes, I know to put it up before riding. Grin ) Anyone ever put anything on the bottom of the kickstand to limit this? I was thinking I could bolt on a chunk of nylon from an old cutting board and see if that would help.
Jeff

Yeah, like I have any clue what is going on....
http://myrycabuild.weebly.com
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: kickstand scraping
Reply #1 - 10/25/14 at 10:47:03

Old cutting board, hockey puck,, whatever, just be aware the IF your safety switches are all still working and you hit a bump and the stand is deflected down before the spring hauls it back up, its gonna cut out & BakkFarr like nobodys bizniss,,
Otheres have done this for Oil Checkin reasons,, No one has demonstrated any pain or loss or suffering from doing that and adding oil till its visible at the veeeerry bottom of the window, Of course, the window would indicate over full when the bike is standing up.. I never did it, a few did, no one ever wrecked a motor..

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
oldNslow
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Rochester, NY
Reply #2 - 10/25/14 at 12:23:43

Stomp a beer can flat and stick it under the stand whenever you park. Keep the can in your jacket pocket, saddlebag, or where ever. Sooner or later it will come  in handy if you have to park on dirt or gravel or hot asphalt. Your smartphone wil work too,but its kinda tough on the phone☺

IP Logged
HondaLavis

It's nothing
personal; the other
one came first.

Plano, TX
Reply #3 - 10/25/14 at 20:52:32