Send Topic Print
Crank Shaft Bearing (Read 192 times)
IrishSavage
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Crank Shaft Bearing
08/18/14 at 04:26:07

It has not been the best of times when I recently found out that the crank shaft bearing needs to be replaced on my 1998 savage. I live in norway and the price for having it fixed is about 5000$ which is more than the cost of the bike itself. I was hoping somebody on here could have some tips for what I am dealing with, seeing I'm pretty new to working on bikes. I was adviced by the shop to throw the whole thing away... I have looked for a new motor but so far I am having no such luck. Any ideas would be well apreciated!
Thanks!

IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: Crank Shaft Bearing
Reply #1 - 08/18/14 at 04:31:50

Not sure I can be a lot of help to someone in Norway.  I replaced my crank bearings about two years ago.  It requires a lot of work, a couple of hundred dollars worth of parts and gaskets.

What are the symptoms you had, how many miles on the bike, etc.  If you can't do the work yourself it could get expensive.  Around here there are enough crashed bikes that buying an engine is not difficult - but I don't imagine that is easy in Norway.

Dave

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #2 - 08/18/14 at 07:48:57

Before you lay it in a dingy, sail it out into the bay and light fire to it...

Seek out the local savages, there might be a Norwegian savage website, or seek out the Finns or Germans, I know they have groups and I've sold to a few in the area.  And try a few more shops, that one does not like savages.  I got a feeling $5000 is a go away price or I'd love to send my daughter to college price.  Find someone that'll take you under there wing and work with you.

There's also a few specialty tools you'll need, or figure out how to do w/out.