Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
This site is a godsend. (Read 104 times)
bobthekerr

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

This site is a godsend.
08/13/14 at 12:17:28

A total noob. Just bought my first bike in May, a 95 Suzuki Savage 650. Didn't know a darn thing about bikes but have spent the last month or so researching cause this bike had issues when I bought it and the guy I bought it from didn't have much to tell me when I bought it except "he let his friend borrow it, now it's running loud".

In this time I have learned more about bikes than my 33 years combined, and I am in love! The rocker arms were shot and the cam housing area had some scratching so I figure it was not taken care of and probably ridden inappropriately for too long. Found a great service shop near my work that had a couple Savages they were parting out, so I bought the entire cylinder head assembly cause it looked in pristine condition.

Swapped out the cylinder head assembly and hooked everything back up and started her up, and she sounds pretty good! However in recent days I am currently making the current repairs/upgrades:

1. Checking the cam tensioner to see where it's at, I get no noise and the engine runs quiet but you guys got me paranoid about it and I have to see for myself how far it's travelled.
2. Raising the seat mount about 1" or so.
3. Raptor 660 petcock replacement for OEM petcock.

Eventually getting some paintwork and aftermarket parts (turn signals, pegs, headlamp cover, and possibly a neon kit to match the paintjob)

I have become obsessed with this bike right now, and this site has been invaluable in the process. Thank you to all the people who participate and help out beginners like myself who don't quite know what the heck we're doing.

Grin Thanks Grin

IP Logged
MMRanch
Serious Thumper

Evil flourishes if
Good Men do Nothing.

LYNCHBURG TN
Re: This site is a godsend.
Reply #1 - 08/13/14 at 14:02:15

Bob