Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
sputtering in the mid-range (Read 94 times)
Tocsik
Serious Thumper

the singularity

Denver, CO
sputtering in the mid-range
06/16/14 at 09:24:59

I live in Denver (so, roughly 5280 altitude) and I'm new to this motor.
Bone stock for now except one of the PO's already removed the brass plug over the mixture screw. Bone stock meaning stock airbox and muffler. I do have the Raptor petcock installed already.

It feels kinda cold-blooded in that it runs better with the choke pulled out some for several minutes when riding on mornings that are over 50 degrees and I get some backfire on downshifts and the big kapow when I shut it off on warm days.  

I notice it sputters in the mid-range almost all the time but pulls great in the higher RPM's.  I turned the mix screw in while counting the number of turns and it was about 3 turns out.  I backed it out the same and added a 1/4 turn to see if anything changed but it didn't.
I figure I need to clean the carb but thought I would toss it out there for feedback before digging in.  I have my Dyna muffler in hand and now I think I should have it running smooth with the stock set-up before switching pipes so I have a better idea if re-jetting will be necessary.
At my altitude, what's the recommended number of turns out for the mixture screw as a starting point?
Any suggestions regarding the mid-range sputtering (other than cleaning the carb)?

Thanks.

'08|Raptor|Dyna|Stock jets & no other carb changes @ 5280' alt|'slavy CCT|Kawa front pulley|130/90 rear tire|7" LED headlight|3" straight risers|FIAMM El Grande horns|Mutazu hard bags
  IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: sputtering in the mid-range
Reply #1 - 06/16/14 at 09:30:07

You are really high there... I'd put on the muffler and leave the jetting as is...
It may work really well...