Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Head bolt video (Read 79 times)
JRLeathercraft

I'm not a biker, I
just own one.

Head bolt video
05/06/14 at 08:34:32

I'm not a mechanic, but if any of you tackle the famous head bolt leak, can you please make a video of it?

I paid a lot of money last year for this goofy Suzuki shop to take care of an oil leak and it's doing it again. In fact, unless I'm going crazy, I can hear a 'spirrrrt' when it's running.

Not a lot of oil, just enough to be annoying. The symptoms seem to be just like I've read in many post.

Thanks for all the help you guys have provided - all I can say, with all it's evils, I wouldnt be able to so the things I do with the MC if not for the internet and this forum.

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: Head bolt video
Reply #1 - 05/06/14 at 08:43:24

How are you set up? Got a place to work on it? Tools? A maintenance manual?
If not, tools can be had for a lot less $ today than 30 years ago. Harbor Freight end wrenches will do the job, a beam type 3/8ths torque wrench from Sears is about $30.00. I dont think Id do a HF torque Wrench, someone else may have a higher opinion of their tools. A place can be faked up with PVC & a coupla tarps, but Im not a big fan of opening engines up "out in the elements", tho, I Have installed stuff under the valve cover of an engine out in a field in West Texas,, Hadda be done,, oilfield stuff doesnt wait for Just the Right Time"..
Keeping bolts in order is a good idea, a piece of cardboard with the outline of the part the bolts are coming out of & an X cut in it at the right places, poke the bolts in as they come out,,A maintenance manual is a really handy thing. Online is one source, bought in hard copy is pricey,

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
JRLeathercraft

I'm not a biker, I
just own one.

Reply #2 - 05/11/14 at 14:31:59

justin_o_guy2 wrote on 05/06/14 at 08:43:24: