Send Topic Print
2006 S40 Oil question (Read 258 times)
s40guy
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

2006 S40 Oil question
03/03/14 at 19:09:48

I have been doing some looking at different oil posts for my 2006 S40. Can you tell me, in your opinions, if using the Spectro 10w-40 Semi Synthetic oil would have enough of the ZDDP in it for the S40? I have my idle at about 1100 to 1200 rpms. It was a little lower than that for about a day but I turned it up to make sure I was not going to have engine problems. right now there is about 9,000 miles on it and I know I will be getting with Versy this summer to do the cam tensioner mod. I planned on checking it at about 12,00 miles and have been listening all the time for the cam sound of death. Thank you very much. S40 guy.  Smiley

IP Logged
pg
Serious Thumper

In Transit
Re: 2006 S40 Oil question
Reply #1 - 03/03/14 at 20:30:44

I did a bit of research a few months ago and I don't think you can have to much regardless of which oil you choose.  I went to amazon and bought a 4-pack of zddplus.  
Incidentally, I have been very impressed with Rotella Dino as well as T6.  Check this out of you haven't yet.   Wink

http://suzukisavage.com/cgi-bin/YaBB.pl?num=1344471565

I don't make the rules, I just know what they are.....

IP Logged
Kris01
Serious Thumper

Eat, sleep, RIDE!

Tennessee
Reply #2 - 03/04/14 at 19:05:24

According to my research, you CAN have too much zinc in your oil.  I've found that levels approaching 2000 ppm can have a detrimental effect on your engine.

I use Shell Rotella T 15W-40 with 2 ounces of Redline ZDDP booster.  Off the top of my head I think that puts my oil at around 1200-1500 ppm.

There's no problem that a full tank of gas and a sunny day can't fix!

2008 S40, Rotella T 15W-40 w/ZDDP added, Dyna, 140/90-15, Battery Tender Jr., Seat lift, #52.5/150/3 washers, Raptor
  IP Logged
pg
Serious Thumper

In Transit
Reply #3 - 03/05/14 at 03:31:35

Kris01 wrote on 03/04/14 at 19:05:24: