65747-94 Dyna Install (Read 659 times)
Rush-rks

Lurking &
Learning

Beckley WV
65747-94 Dyna Install
02/21/14 at 11:50:59

Hello everybody.  

I have 65747-94 Dyna coming for my 06 S40..$30.00 shipped from flea bay and from the pictures it looks perfect and the seller assured me that the baffles are not removed or altered.  

But I want to be sure I have everything I need before I attempt this.  As I will be nervous..I am not very mechanically inclined and I am a pencil pusher by trade but I would like to know a few things.

Do I need the ryca adapter that I have seen over various threads or can I used something else, or even a flexible adapter as seen in places as autozone?.  Also I am confused about the sizing?

Do I need to replace the crush gasket at the head and/or the OEM gasket between the muffer and head pipe?

Do I need to remove the exhaust completely or just loosen it at the head and outlined Serowbots instructions.  I have read his instructions 20 times and read probably 250 posts so I can get the jist of what I have to do.

And to bolt the Dyna to the new hanger, I need 5/16X2 carriage bolts to do that..from pictures I have seen rubber washers?

I am going to do this when I know I have everything I need as my stock muffers sounds like a WV beetle.

Thanks guys Smiley

2006 Suzuki S40 Boulevard bone stock other than idle-mix adjustment out 3/4 turn from factory setting
  IP Logged
1st2know

Currently between
Savages

Seattle, WA
Re: 65747-94 Dyna Install
Reply #1 - 02/21/14 at 12:24:03

I just did this job, here is what I used:
- cobra 1.75 t-clamp
- cobra 1.75 heat shield.
- 5/16 grade 8 bolt for the rear hanger - I'm using only one bolt.

I couldn't get the tin can to wrap around the header pipe, so I used about 4 layers of aluminum foil. So far, no leaks. Cutting a tin can is a skill that I haven't developed yet Sad