Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5
Send Topic Print
The good and the ugly, help!!! (Read 805 times)
savagechick91
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Woodruff sc
The good and the ugly, help!!!
01/20/14 at 08:01:33

Hey yall! I am new to the motorcycle world and recently was given a 2000 suzuki ls650 p motorcycle  Cool The good, the bike only has 11k miles and it was free title in hand. The ugly, the bike has been sitting for a year because the previous owner could not figure out the issues. To top it off the keys were lost  Undecided so first question... do I just get other keys made by looking up the make and model etc or do I need to switch out the ignition? The more ugly, gas is leaking into the cylinder. So I did some research it could be the petcock, head, gaskets etc. Is there anything that is common with these bikes that could lead to this issue? Because from what I was told the spark plug keeps fouling out so therefore it won't run. I doubted it could be the motor since such low miles but I'm clueless. All I do know is I need to get this bike fixed because I'm ready to feel the wind in my face Wink

Cherie Bryant
  IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Re: The good and the ugly, help!!!
Reply #1 - 01/20/14 at 08:22:16

S-P is the expert on getting keys made.  Evidently there is a number on the ignition swith that is hidden by some black tape.  Look up his thread....or he can chine in later.

You should pull the vacuum line that goes from the petcock over to the carb that has a wire spring around it.  Pull that off....and if there is gasoline in it the petcock is toast.  You need to order the proper Yamaha part for the 660 Raptor....not a chinese replacement.  If you choose to buy it from eBay.....make sure you see the box from Yamaha and the correct part number.