service help in NZ (Read 63 times)
Tiktok423

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

service help in NZ
09/25/13 at 00:14:19

Hey guys, i bought my bike at 21000km and now my bikes at 31000km,
im a noob so sorry for the stupid questions,

Am I due for a service? if so, what should be done and can I do it by myself and not take it into the shop, cheers.

06 Suzuki S40
First Time Rider
First Bike Owned
Northland
New Zealand
  IP Logged
WD
Serious Thumper
2005 No Login

Professional
"scooter
trash".

Rosemark TN
Re: service help in NZ
Reply #1 - 09/25/13 at 02:45:11

Change engine oil and oil filter, clean air filter. See tech section table of contents thread.

Check the valve settings. See tech section table of contents thread.

That is 19,262.5 miles, time to check the cam chain tensioner and most likely replace it with a modified one. Can't recall from earlier posts if you already did this. If not, you need to contact Verslagen1 and get on the list. See the market place page. And then the tech section table of contents thread.

There is a very good reason I'm "pimping" the tech section... dealership service bays are notorious for destroying Savage engines. They tend to put the oil filter in backwards, among other issues.

On 2 wheels since 7/87

Black and Chrome 2003 1950s style custom
  IP Logged
jcstokes
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com is
very useful

Mauku New Zealand
Reply #2 - 09/25/13 at 03:03:18