Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
4 speed vs 5 speed savages. (Read 175 times)
Quimrider
YaBB Newbies

Good, Bad, I'm the
guy with the gun!

Ohio
4 speed vs 5 speed savages.
06/05/13 at 19:21:22

I'm looking to buy a Savage.  I had not been considering the pre '93 4 speeds but I have found one that is priced right and in great shape.  I ride a lot on the interstate.  I'm looking for feedback from anyone in the know as to how much of a difference the 5th gear makes on the freeway.  What I would really like to know is what the gear ratio is of the 4th gear of the 4 speed vs the 5th gear of the 5 speed.

WWW   IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: 4 speed vs 5 speed savages.
Reply #1 - 06/05/13 at 19:37:06

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
ZAR
Serious Thumper

Rock this town! Rock
it inside out!

Kentucky, USA
Reply #2 - 06/05/13 at 19:57:33

I've had no experience with the 4spd bikes but I've spent the last year on a 1996 with the 5spd trans. All told I've racked up close to 8000 miles in that time and much of those miles have been on the Interstate at 65-75 mph. I've had no problems and the power has been enough to manage running in traffic,nothing to brag about,but enough to keep me out of trouble,and that's with a Memphis Slim windshield and oversize saddlebags.

I'd be far more concerned about the starter gear failure problem that seems to be prevelant with the older bikes,basicly anything before 1993/1994.  There is a modification for the 4spd bikes that uses the starter clutches from a later model that makes the 4spd a reliable scooter.

Yellow 1996 Jetted and Dunstall exhaust. Dakota Chubby Bags, Memphis Slim shield,Tank Bib from?? Seat riser mod. More to come!
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #3 - 06/05/13 at 19:57:50