Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
First Motorcycle, first problems (Read 572 times)
Crich422
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Colorado Springs, CO
First Motorcycle, first problems
04/28/13 at 07:56:37

Hey everybody, so i bought my friends '88 Savage a few months ago as my first motorcycle with the hopes to work on it myself and learn everything I could about it. I am not a mechanic, in any sense of the word, but I know enough to get myself in trouble. Which Im hoping didn't happen here. Here's the thing...

He bought the bike off the internet, rode around on it for about two weeks then parked it. Then he bought a Blue Collar Bobbers kit to bob it out but after he took things apart he just kind of forgot about it and let it fall to the way side. That's where I come in, I put the new seat together and back on but I haven't put the back fender or the tail light on it yet. The tail light just needs to be wired in. He got a new battery before he parked it, but it's one of those 'fill it yourself' batteries and who knows if he did it right. Now when I put some gas in it, and try to start it, it turns over enough to where i can feel puffs of air come out the tail pipe but it won't actually start. Now the headlight and neutral light come on when I turn the key, and it does dim the light when I try to start it but not as much as I would think with a weak battery. It sounds like a weak battery as it tries to turn over, and my Dad used to always tell me "if it looks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, it's going to be a duck" So that makes me think of the battery. I might get a new one and see if that helps out but if I can save some money I will (not to sound cheap, just a very tight "Fix my motorcycle" budget). Does this sound like a battery or a spark plug or a starter problem?