Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Would using Valvoline oil be ok? (Read 334 times)
rong

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Would using Valvoline oil be ok?
03/09/13 at 16:19:57

I was looking at the recommended oils to use for the Savage.  Valvoline VR1 Racing oil is not mentioned.  (I’m new, but starting to get the hang of the ‘search’ button!).  

According to Valvoline’s customer service, this type of Valvoline oil contains 1400 ppm zinc and 1300 ppm phosphorus.  Wouldn’t this fit the ZDDP requirements for the Savage?  They make: 10w-30, 20w-50, and single viscosities of 30, 40, 50, and 60.

This Valvoline oil is very common where I live and would be my choice, … if it works for the Savage.

Thanks,
Ron G

IP Logged
HondaLavis

It's nothing
personal; the other
one came first.

Plano, TX
Re: Would using Valvoline oil be ok?
Reply #1 - 03/09/13 at 18:12:16

I'm no expert, but since VR1 is an AUTO oil and the bottle SPECIFICALLY SAYS don't use it in wet clutches...  I'd suggest just sticking with trusty Rotella.  Wink

"You ride a single cylinder motorcycle??"

"When you're good, one is all you need." Wink

I guess that means I'm no good anymore; I've got 4 more cylinders! '08 Yamaha FJR1300 and still '01 Savage
  IP Logged
ZAR
Serious Thumper

Rock this town! Rock
it inside out!

Kentucky, USA
Reply #2 - 03/09/13 at 20:40:19

Ron I'll go with Lavis on this one. There have been just too many instances of clutch issues with auto type oil in bikes!

Yellow 1996 Jetted and Dunstall exhaust. Dakota Chubby Bags, Memphis Slim shield,Tank Bib from?? Seat riser mod. More to come!
  IP Logged
Gyrobob
Serious Thumper

Posers ain't
motorcyclists

Newnan, GA
Reply #3 - 03/10/13 at 01:40:59

That oil is formulated for short-term use in racing auto engines.   Unless you plan to be racing against autos and changing the oil after every race, I'd find something oriented more toward street use in a Savage.