Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Sometimes when you think you're being screwed..... (Read 163 times)
ZAR
Serious Thumper

Rock this town! Rock
it inside out!

Kentucky, USA
Sometimes when you think you're being screwed.....
02/13/13 at 20:47:51

you discover it's a blessing.

As I've told here before, I make my living driving. Almost always have it seems. From hauling farm supplies and custom field work to hauling auto parts,propane fuel delivery,dump trucks hauling rock,dirt and sand,and for the last eight years doing pickup and delivery for a major tractor and mower shop here in Kentucky.

All that changed about a month ago! We had a guy in the parts department retire at Christmas and being in the slower season the bosses let it ride a while until a few weeks ago when they decided to pull me off the truck and throw me into parts,all without asking me if I even wanted the job!

Understand I was a farm kid growing up,and have never been happy trapped inside. I tried that early on in a couple of factories and again in my 30's as a desk jockey. Just about killed me!

Anyhoo........ after almost four weeks in the parts department I can honestly say that yes,I do miss being out on the road but I'm not missing pushing,pulling and dragging dead equipment onto trailers. I don't even miss fighting the slick roads and stupid traffic too much. I do miss the freedom of setting my own routes and all the customers I met on my rounds.

BUT........the parts manager is a great young guy. He is patient and has given me considerable leeway in learning the ropes. He not only listens to my ideas but solicits my advise based on my years of dealing with equipment out in the field. Due to all my contacts I've made over the years he assigns many of the odd parts requests to me,knowing my contacts broaden the scope of outlets for parts we may need.