Send Topic Print
Suicide shifter (Read 711 times)
Lucaisrussell

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Southern ca
Suicide shifter
01/08/13 at 20:54:59

Hey everyone! I'm new to the fourm and decided to join because there is some very good information floating around here. My 95 savage is pretty "bobbed" out and I'd like to go a few steps futher if plausible. I'd really like to do a write up on a DIY suicide shifter but I'm looking for some ideas on how to run the clutch cable. The clutch lever I could do easy but I'm stumped on a praticle, DIY way to run this cable. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Also on a side note, anybody ever heard of converting this bike over to kickstart and rerunning wires for AC?

image_031.jpg

Kill bodies
  IP Logged
Cavi Mike
Serious Thumper

Thumper n00b

Rochester, NY
Re: Suicide shifter
Reply #1 - 01/08/13 at 21:41:22

I'd run the cable backwards, underneath the bike.

IP Logged
Lucaisrussell

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Southern ca
Reply #2 - 01/09/13 at 10:20:20

I still need to be able to move that lever upwards to push in the clutch.

Kill bodies
  IP Logged
Cavi Mike
Serious Thumper

Thumper n00b

Rochester, NY
Reply #3 - 01/09/13 at 10:22:57

The liner moves instead of the cable. It doesn't matter which side is fixed as long as the other side moves.

IP Logged
Demin
Serious Thumper

We need more
chlorine in the gene
pool

Warren,Ohio
Reply #4 - 01/09/13 at 10:24:29

No.Mount the cable between the pivot and the pedal/peg.When you push on it,it releases the clutch.

Next project:finish '87 Savage custom/bobber/CHOP STYLE***DONE
finish '77 Yamaha XS650 bobber Bought another one
finish'79 Harley custom bobber(NEXT)
  IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Reply #5 - 01/09/13 at 11:08:08

So....is this an attempt to keep anyone from wanting to borrow or ride your bike?