YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

illinois
Head plug leak.
10/24/12 at 08:53:42

Hi.
Ok I just got my first Savage,
Its a 2002 with a little over 6k miles. runs great but I've noticed a small amount of white smoke after i ride it for a while... its not a big problem yet but being that i'm in the chicago area and i know i will have all witer to work on it, i would like to replace that head plug, i've been reading about that problem and i'm 90% sure thats what it is!! (I can see a real thin oil film on the left top side of the head) Ok question is: i've been reading about it and some people say "I'ts a real easy job" then i reead somewhere else "Its an about 4hrs job"?? Im average to good with tools i am an automotive tech. and i think 4 hrs can not be as easy as they described????  
i'm going to be working on it most winter and i'll be also replacing with the head plug, the spark pug,the air filter,oil filter and oil,i'm installing some of Ed L. forward controls and thinking about the cam chain tensioner!! is there any other recomendation to make this savage ready for next season???
Oh is there a place to get good parts at a good price???
Thanks. Cool

2002 Silver Savage 650 with Ed's L Forward controls and Dyna sorty mod. Cool
  IP Logged
Blinky-FSO
Serious Thumper

Three Eyes Are
Better Than Two

Kentucky
Re: Head plug leak.
Reply #1 - 10/24/12 at 09:36:29

bohe1,
Not all head plugs fail With only 6K miles before I would tear into it I would check the head bolt on the front of the jug under the exhaust header. Get down low and look up at the underside jug below and to the right (looking from the front of the bike) of the exhaust header. My guess is that you will see the head bolt and it will have oil on it. I have a 2007 that came with an oil film on the top of the jug and I was able to trace it to this bolt being loose.

For what it is worth

2007 S40 (Sold)
2007 C50 (Sold)
1992 Honda GL1500
2014 Honda CTX700N
  IP Logged
oldNslow
Serious Thumper