Send Topic Print
Vin stamp question (Read 168 times)
aschrock
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Vin stamp question
10/12/12 at 21:13:35

Hey guys, I'm in the middle of a rebuild on a savage, I'm stripping the frame down to paint right now. I noticed when I began to sand near the Vin stamp on the frame it was removing the stamping for the vin. Is there an easier way to remove the paint in the area without damaging the vin stamping? I had tried just using paint stripper, but I had absolutely ZERO luck in that endeavor. Also, i what can I do if in painting the frame the paint collects in the stamping to where it covers It up? Is it legal to just have the vin restamped or etched? This is my first attempt at a bike restoration and I was just curious about these things. Thanks!

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: Vin stamp question
Reply #1 - 10/12/12 at 21:29:17

IDK if this will work, so, try it somewhere it wont matter first.
Mask off area. Put wax on it. Mite need to heat it & use a popsicle stick. Then apply stripper,

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
Greg-E
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 10/13/12 at 09:23:28

Depending on the mood of the police officer, if the VIN looks strange they will impound the vehicle. I wouldn't touch it with anything other than chemical strippers and then make sure the paint doesn't completely fill in the numbers.

IP Logged
aschrock
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #3 - 10/13/12 at 12:18:21

Alright, and more more question. Which is the actual legal vin? The frame stamping or the etching on the metal plaque on the frame?

IP Logged
Greg-E
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #4 - 10/13/12 at 12:23:40

Probably both.

IP Logged
aschrock
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #5 - 10/13/12 at 12:33:59