Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Back in the saddle again (Read 279 times)
Doug B

I am, therefore I
think

Kennewick, WA
Back in the saddle again
09/25/12 at 13:51:36

I'm a newbie and would like to say hello to all. I'm impressed with what I've seen in this forum. I last owned a bike in 1982(modified XT500), and purchased a brand new 2011 S40($3,999) on 8-21-12. I was surprised at how poorly it seemed to run when I first started it up at the dealership. Also surprising was the lack of spacing between 4th and 5th gear. I've already removed the brass plug and opened up the mixture screw. I will be making other carb changes(pilot, main, spacer), a better muffler, and Amsoil. It sure is fun to be riding again after a 30-year hiatus. I do have questions. Does the head really need to be retorqued ? Will a Clymer manual 1986-2007 work for my 2011 for everything ?  Is it worth getting a Suzuki manual, as well ?  Smiley

« Last Edit: 09/26/12 at 07:07:26 by Doug B »  
  IP Logged
CalisOsin

Rather die, than
live down on my
knees.

Orange County, Ca
Re: Back in the saddle again
Reply #1 - 09/25/12 at 13:56:18

Clymers should be the same, just make sure you know about the errors.

http://suzukisavage.com/cgi-bin/YaBB.pl?board=tech;action=display;num=1119775997

I've never needed the Suzuki manual myself, but maybe someone who has it would be better qualified to answer that.

'97, k&n airfilter, bcb pipe, custom leather seat, monoshock, custom bars
  IP Logged
J C Stokes

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 09/25/12 at 15:10:46