Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
another noob, just bought first bike (Read 136 times)
tonewheelmonster
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

another noob, just bought first bike
09/18/12 at 13:47:27

Hi all,  found this forum and it seems like a great place to learn.
I just purchased a 2005 s40 with 2500 miles for $1700.  This is my first bike ever and i'm still learning the basics.  I was hoping to be able to do basic maintenance and such myself, even though i'm not all that mechanical, and I was wondering if anyone had a list of tools to cover the basics.

things i'd like to do:
change the oil
adjust the carb
maybe change to the raptor petcock (still learning about that)
and anything else that ya'll might suggest.

Thanks

IP Logged
J C Stokes

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: another noob, just bought first bike
Reply #1 - 09/18/12 at 15:56:53

If still have the handbook, familiarise yourself with the oil level checking proceedure before doing anything else. There is an excellent video tutorial on changing to the Raptor 666 petcock somewhere in  the tech section. There are endless carburettor tuning/adjusting forums and endless debate on what oil to use. The current favourite appearas to be a Shell Rotella diesel synthetic. This forum has good advice on crosshead screwdriver tips and the neccessity for an offset 10mm ring spanner if you want to do your own tappets. Photo and possibly video walk throughs and tutorials are avadable. The Clymer workshop manual has apparent errors which are documented on this site.

IP Logged
J C Stokes

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 09/18/12 at 15:58:27

And if it's your first bike ever, be sure to take an approved professional riding course.

IP Logged
ToesNose
Serious Thumper

Pardon me, do you
have Hot Sauce?

Mooresville, NC
Reply #3 - 09/18/12 at 16:23:26