Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
I love the smell of gasoline in the morning...but (Read 145 times)
stewmills
Serious Thumper

Imagination is more
important than
knowledge

Auburn, AL
I love the smell of gasoline in the morning...but
09/02/12 at 17:48:35

In all seriousness, is it normal to have an odor of fuel about the bike that are 'natural' and not an indicator something is wrong? It is not strong, but noticeable enough to...well...notice. This is my first bike so I am not experienced enough to know whether this is normal with anything full of fuel and has a pressure relief cap.

I have checked the bike over and there are no leaks. It is a 2008 with ~900 miles and has been rejetted and tuned (runs pretty well now) and it was this way before any work or service as far as I recall.

I think it is just fumes from the gas cap that are finding their way out when I ride and the fuel is sloshing about in there, but wanted to see if there are any "things" I may want to check or be keeping an eye out for that could be causes other than the pressure relief from the cap?

I have read other posts where people ask about the smell of fuel from the airbox, but I have not checked mine yet to see if it is coming from there (there only or there also), so should I check that and if I do smell it there, what does that mean?  Light a match to get a closer look and then report those results  Smiley?

Thanks.

2008 | 152/52.5–Air Mix 3/4 | Rotella T4 | Seat Lift w/Sheepskin | Speedo Rattle | Rear Pulley Shim | 140/90-15 Rear | Kaw Front Pulley | Relocated Rear Signals

FREEDOM ISN'T FREE!
  IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: I love the smell of gasoline in the morning...
Reply #1 - 09/02/12 at 17:57:24

A strong fuel smell from the airbox, will usually mean,.. either your float's stuck, or the vac petcock is leaking down the vac line...