Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Mechanically
Inclined Amateur

Texas (Dallas area)
Re: Sea foam gas additive
Reply #30 - 06/21/12 at 16:27:55

Gyrobob wrote on 06/20/12 at 17:59:53:
MMO is as worthless as seafoam.  They are just solvents.  If you have some muck in your system that is susceptible to solvents, it might help if the conditions are just right.  A real mechanic would clean out the mucked up system like a man, rather than a cheerleader.[/size]

Yeah, well, I'm not a real mechanic.  The system isn't mucked up.  I use the solvent a few times a year to help keep it that way.

1998|MAC muffler|ceramic coated header|K&N air filter|Amal Mk2 carb|Odyssey battery|iridium plug|NC windshield|Dunlop 491s|Superbrace|EBC brake rotor|12.5" Progressive shocks|Kuryakyn ISO grips
Savage_Rob RidingTX   IP Logged
Boofer
Serious Thumper

Nearly too old.

N Ms
Reply #31 - 06/21/12 at 19:06:38

I use SeaFoam as a solvent, because it is a solvent. I found a supply for $5.99 a pint, but it runs close to $10 most places. A pint lasts a long time. Again, I don't want to make anyone use it, but if you have an old barn find you're trying to get running a few cents worth is worth a try. I feel the same way about starting fluid, even though it can hurt you and blow up an engine. People probably felt the same way when washing with soap was the new fad.

2001 Black, Spitfire windshield, Headlight upgrade, Sissy rack, Tool bag, Fork bag, Harley muffler, Memory foam seat, Crash bars. Hwy pegs, Raptor.
  IP Logged
Gyrobob
Serious Thumper

Posers ain't
motorcyclists

Newnan, GA
Reply #32 - 06/21/12 at 19:07:46

bill67 wrote on 06/21/12 at 14:49:19:
So that means you are a flightless bird I guess.

As far as I can tell, you have not stopped scraping flightless birds, unless you are a wan   tabe.  Or do you not accept the role as a wan.  or a tabe.