Serious Thumper
ModSquad

Hobby is now
"concentrated
neuropany"

Fayetteville, NC
Re: Oil Weight?
Reply #15 - 05/26/12 at 09:40:40

JOG (the presiding judge of the KK) is here now, so the rest of the Kourt will be along directly)

Fire away, Gridley -- 3 free shots with no rebuttal from me (newbie's advantage)

Former Savage Owner
  IP Logged
Dave
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Camp Springs, Kentucky
Reply #16 - 05/26/12 at 10:05:28

There are only 2 kinds of oil,  Good Oil....and Bad Oil.

I use the good oil! Grin

Someday I will be old......But not today!

IP Logged
360k+
Serious Thumper

Savage heart of
darkness

Cartersville, GA
Reply #17 - 05/26/12 at 10:18:50

OK Oldfeller, I'm gonna step in it, ummm, the trap, I mean...    Wink

While I am an engineer, I am not a chemist or lubrication engineer.   My 2009 S40 owners manual and shop manual both recommend oil with SAE 10W-40 and API SF/SG or SH/SJ ratings.   Since I must presume Suzuki engineers have a wealth of knowledge that far exceeds my own, I will stick with their recommendation.

There is an old saying among bass fishermen...  "most lures are designed to catch fishermen, not fish".   Make sure you understand the difference between manufacturer marketing hype and honest scientific analysis.

The JOURNEY is the reward!
  IP Logged
rfw2003
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Yantis, TX
Reply #18 - 05/26/12 at 10:36:57

At the recommendations here and also the local cycle shops I just picked up Rotella T6 to use in my new to me 96' Savage

1996 Savage, Corbin Seat, K&N filter, Slip Streamer Enterprise II windshield, LED bullet signals, Cat's eye LED tail light Ryca reverse cone long muffler
  IP Logged
Wake51

Murphy's Law

St. Louis
Reply #19 - 05/26/12 at 11:37:38

I'm just curious to know if some truly believe owners are headed down a road of engine destruction based on small differences in oil selection...  Undecided