Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Project Randy Savage: My '87 build (Read 420 times)
CTeunuch
YaBB Newbies

Sudbury, MA
Project Randy Savage: My '87 build
05/07/12 at 18:09:29

I'll start with a quick intro, my name is Patrick and I'm new to bikes. I picked this '87 Savage up from a friend for $500 with brand new tires and brakes when he bought a bigger Honda. It's my first street bike and I've been having a blast on it for the past few weeks. Unfortunately, I have a problem where I can't leave anything I own stock, so the mods have begun. Here's how it looked when I got it.

It has a half assed black paint job and a torn seat, but those are easy fixes. Tonight I pulled the carb and jetted it using the kit from Ryca, and installed an ebay cone filter to match. I'm a big fan of minimalist styling, so I decided to ditch the airbox, and I'll be making a new mount for the battery. After I finish this 'step' up, the rear fender and lights are next. I'm not 100% what I'll be using yet, but expect it to be cheap and homemade. The goal of the build is a cool looking bike that I can commute to work on and cruise around without breaking the bank. Here's a few pictures from tonight to keep you from getting too bored.

Gunk in the carb.

After cleaning everything and putting in a 152.5 main, as well as the new filter.

And how she sits now, with a rough idea of what will be the new battery location.

Think Twice Garage
"If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem."
  IP Logged
Cavi Mike
Serious Thumper

Thumper n00b

Rochester, NY
Re: Project Randy Savage: My '87 build
Reply #1 - 05/07/12 at 21:06:13

$500???? I hate you.  Grin

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #2 - 05/07/12 at 22:39:15

How much longer are you gonna tolerate that chrome cannon they call an exhaust? Dang thing is HUGE,,