Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Send Topic Print
Reupholster or different handle bars (Read 516 times)
John
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reupholster or different handle bars
04/11/12 at 09:53:30

I'm a recent owner of a 2007 Suzuki S40. I"m 6'0 even, and I'm running into issues where after about 30 -45 minutes of riding, I get tension in between my shoulders and my lower back aches. Initially my neck muscles hurt, but that has been fixed by a better fitting helmet. I constantly "make" my arms relax through the ride, so I'm essentially locked into my bike and my arms are just there for steering. I'm on a shoestring budget (around $60-75, birthday money) and am trying to decide if I should get my seat reupholstered ( a local motorcycle shop that i trust recommended someone) or if I should consider going with some 26" superbike bars. Does anyone have any suggestions or advice?  

As an FYI, I'm also new to the motorcyle world in general. My S40 is my first bike, having entered the biker world officially in october of 2011 and getting the bike in November (early Christmas present).

Anyone....bueller...anyone? Smiley

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: Reupholster or different handle bars
Reply #1 - 04/11/12 at 10:09:07

If you're getting shoulder/back tension,.. do the bars first...

What bars do you have now?... pull-backs?...
At 6ft,... 26" bars are very narrow, and will likely increase tension,... I'd go for 30" to 32" wide.
Imagine trying to do push-ups with your hands close together, compared to doing them with your hands directly under your shoulders...
Less muscle stress... in the shoulders and middle back with arms aligned with shoulders...

I got some drag bars on E-bay for $30 shipped brand new...  Drag's do put you in more of a lean position,... Standard bars, are the most comfortable for most people...

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...