Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
2001 Suzuki Savage engine sudden cut off (Read 272 times)
sologf
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

2001 Suzuki Savage engine sudden cut off
11/09/11 at 11:18:13

Has anyone had this problem?. I was riding few weeks ago, made a left turn followed by a Stop sign. at the stop sign my engine cut off. all dead, no chocking and no jerking just cut OFF. starter did not work.
1- pulled to the side and turned key off.
2- switched gas tank to reserve, turn key to ON position and tried to start, all worked perfect.
At the time I had very little gas in tank and went to fill up tank immediately.
Today coming to work. I had the same incident four times. the only difference is that my tank is almost full.
Please help. this is my first year riding and my first motorcycle as well.

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: 2001 Suzuki Savage engine sudden cut off
Reply #1 - 11/09/11 at 11:25:31

Typically a vacuum petcock problem.
Run with it in prime and if it goes away you've isolated the problem.
check serowbot's 'check your petcock' post in the tech section.

WWW   IP Logged
sologf
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 11/09/11 at 11:40:51

Thanks for prompt response. I will ride back  home with switch on Prime Position and read recommended posting.

One more question; Should I leave switch on Prime or switch to other position at the end of trip.

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #3 - 11/09/11 at 11:55:33

Return it to 'on' so the autooff will protect from gas dripping into your crankcase.

WWW   IP Logged
thumperclone
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

PGR rider  riding
with respect

Grand Junction Colorado
Reply #4 - 11/09/11 at 13:19:55

sudden engine cut off happens to me when the heel of my boot hits the side stand...