Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Yes, another Newbie with questions.... (Read 148 times)
Senga
YaBB Newbies

I used to be a
Rebel, but now I'm a
SAVAGE!

Oxford, MI
Yes, another Newbie with questions....
07/05/11 at 16:22:51

I apologize as I'm sure all these questions have been answered a million times...

I just picked up a 2001 Savage on Saturday as a step up from my 250 Rebel (I just started riding last September).  Over the weekend we rode approx. 200 miles and the bike was great!  I love the additional power and can actually come close to keeping up with my husband's Harley.

There were a couple of things that I did notice.  First, the seat.  I wouldn't have called the Rebel's seat luxurious by any means, but this one just has to go.  This badonkadonk needs a little more contouring or something. Grin   From what I can tell it seems that the Corbin is the way to go, but I would love to hear other suggestions if they're out there.  I'm 5'3", with a 30" inseam, so the height isn't too much of an issue.

Second, one of my major complaints about the Rebel was that it sounded like a lawn mower.  I was really looking forward to something with a little more ummpphh.  Boy, was I surprised to learn that this one sounds like a go-kart.  Not much of a move up.  It also tends to backfire.  Are there any recommendations for the exhaust?

Again, sorry for the dumb questions, but hey, what are Newbies for? Wink

IP Logged
Smokestack

The Devil made me do
it!

The Hammer, Canada
Re: Yes, another Newbie with questions....
Reply #1 - 07/05/11 at 17:06:07

Most of your questions have dedicated areas in the technical section of this forum; just go to the table of contents with index and you should find a pile of info about seat and exhaust mods and replacements.  Some are pricey, others not so much.