Jump Start... (Read 137 times)
EJID
Serious Thumper

Work to ride and
ride to work.

Pocatello, ID
Jump Start...
05/12/11 at 12:23:58

Well it finally happened  Sad bike left me stranded.

Rode into work this morning, no problems.

Took a mid-morning run to take care of a few errands that needed to be done, no problems.

Went out at lunch to go get a bite to eat and nothing...  Embarrassed One click and nothing. Check all the safeties, try again, not even the click. About this time I realize that I must have switched the key to Park instead of off after my mid-morning run and drained the battery. Round up a buddy to give me a jump and left his truck turned off, connected the ground to the frame of the bike and clamped the screwdriver from the toolkit with the positive jumper cable. He then held the cable/screwdriver up to the positive side of the battery while I cranked the bike. Lit right up  Smiley

I've been limping along with this battery for the last 2 years and this is the first time I've been anywhere other than home when it's been dead, so I think I'm ready for a replacement. (Planning on ordering up a Big Crank) But this got me to thinking, that was only on for about 2hrs and drained it completely, if I had replaced the brake/tail light bulb with a LED replacement would it have still started?  Undecided

05 S40 15" Memphis Slim, FXDWG Bars, Moved Rear Signals, Saddlebags, Fork Bag, Mini-Tach, Raptor, Cone Filter, Fishtail Muffler, Mix Screw Out 2.5 Turns, 4" Fwd Controls, 147.5 Main/55 Pilot @ 4500
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: Jump Start...
Reply #1 - 05/12/11 at 12:28:32

Jump starting is all good, I guess, but it sure does ;eave the bikes charging system to recharge the dead battery, which its not exactly meant to do.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
EJID
Serious Thumper

Work to ride and
ride to work.

Pocatello, ID