Send Topic Print
frozen shifter (Read 142 times)
cootersandwich
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

frozen shifter
04/30/11 at 14:01:51

The bike is a 1998 and it's a friends bike (she knows nothing about bikes as this is her first one NOTE: She bought it online and has never previously ridden it).  Was taken to an under the table mechanic for a tune up, new tires, and a new battery. It came back unable to shift and was very hard to roll.  Just like the title the shifter is frozen and I haven't had the time to go over there and take it apart to see what's wrong.  I've never worked on a Savage before but I have worked on several other bikes.  She's pretty much told me that she has a very limited budget and if it's going to cost more than $100 than she'll just sell the bike and try to recuperate some of the money back.  I need some insight as to what it could be where to start looking and worse case scenario because I really DO NOT want to invest my time into disassembling it if she's going to get rid of it.   Any Help would be appreciated.

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: frozen shifter
Reply #1 - 04/30/11 at 15:46:25

Try to find out exactly what was done and not meant to done.

owners manual
Shop Manuals
clymer errors

pictures are good

Quote:
It came back unable to shift and was very hard to roll.

My 1st guess is that he adjusted the clutch too tight, the book says .1" gap, I like twice as much.

WWW   IP Logged
cootersandwich
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 04/30/11 at 16:51:28

I dunno who the guy was that she took her bike to but he sounds like a real winner, seeing as tho she had to threaten to sue him to get her bike back. lol I don't think that guy is going to help her out any.  As for the pictures, I'll see what I can do.  I have a copy of the manual downloaded to my laptop.

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be