Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Will the s40 hold up on highway speeds? (Read 875 times)
larrydavidbestdude
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Will the s40 hold up on highway speeds?
04/13/11 at 02:36:33

I am a noob to motorcycles. I'm taking my msf course within a month and looking to get a bike for daily commuting. Will the s40 really hold up on highway speeds? I live where people cruise at 70.

I'm sure this has been a f.a.q. BUT there's a offer that's hard to refuse at a local shop and the salesman says it's not good for the highway and I just don't wan't to believe him.

IP Logged
Jimmer

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

NewportPa.
Re: Will the s40 hold up on highway speeds?
Reply #1 - 04/13/11 at 02:57:35

Best Dude
I ride my bike about 12000 to 15000 a year. I ride to and from work,when the weather permits, every day at 65 t0 70 mph. Just keep the bike tuned up and the oil change regularly and I see no reason why it should not workout for you.  This site has some great upgrades to help you and your bike enjoy each other. Good luck

IP Logged
buffyporson
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 04/13/11 at 04:57:57

I use my '88 Savage to commute 25 miles to work on I-95 in FL. Cruises at 65-70 mph with no problems. Lousy gas mileage at that speed though - only 40-45 mpg.

IP Logged
Tom K
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Brighton, CO
Reply #3 - 04/13/11 at 05:18:55

12 mile run down the interstate to work. 65-70 most days, some days 75-80.

2004 Savage
WWW   IP Logged
bill67
Serious Thumper

old  tired

genoa city wisconsin
Reply #4 - 04/13/11 at 05:27:14

larrydavidbestdude wrote on 04/13/11 at 02:36:33:
I am a noob to motorcycles. I'm taking my msf course within a month and looking to get a bike for daily commuting. Will the s40 really hold up on highway speeds? I live where people cruise at 70.