Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Just got my first Suzuki S40 (Read 211 times)
jandaso

Do you want fries
with that?

Just got my first Suzuki S40
02/20/11 at 21:18:04

Hello guys,

My name is Jan Da Silva and I just got my first S40 for the intentions of getting the RYCA kit. The bike was manufactured 10/06 and I got it for $1,500 with 3943 miles on it. The previous owner did not took good care of it and I just wanted to start making it run and look good again.

The bike ride just fine now but I know it needs service. I just bought the oil filter and oil to change it and a Dynojet Kit for the carburetor.

I dont know much about bikes but Im can work with mechanical stuff since I used to be a F-18 engine mechanic for the US NAVY. (I know bikes and planes are not the same.)

I was planning on getting the Clymer Manual to install the jet kit and to try and adjust the valves or any other type of service for it. Do you guys think that with that manual this things can be done??? Is there any other instructions that will help me out to do this things better than that manual ??? This questions might have been answered before but i did try to look for them but couldnt find them. Please help.

Have a great day guys and hope to ride the comments.

2006 S40 - Mikuni VM38 (UFO and Dial-a-Jet), K&N filter, Barnett Clutch, Dyna Muffler, and Verslavy.
  IP Logged
Routy
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Winston Oregon
Re: Just got my first Suzuki S40
Reply #1 - 02/20/11 at 21:57:26

Welcome to  the forum.....and the Savage world.
Sounds like you got a good buy on your bike.
Service...oil and filter change for sure,......but not sure why you would want to hack the carb if it runs good now. Many of these bikes are running good w/o any re jetting.

Rich
'07 S40 Blvd stocker, except drilled OEM exhaust and white spacer mod...1/2 (.055)
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.