Send Topic Print
my first motorcycle? (Read 275 times)
derbro
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

my first motorcycle?
01/31/11 at 20:56:35

hi my name is derek and i am new to the riding experience, in the motorcycle aspect anyway. I have been looking all over everywhere for bikes in my price range for about a month solid. a friend of mine at work has a 87' savage for sale. really the bike is beautiful. new custom paint job done in house. they claim that alot of engine work has been done to the bike and it has basically been rebuilt. i haven't seen any records yet, but they are good people and i feel i can trust them. the bike has 14,xxx miles, they are asking 1,500 firm i believe. i have some pics i can post up. any input is apriciated. oh and explain to me how to post up pics thanks.

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: my first motorcycle?
Reply #1 - 01/31/11 at 22:11:03

Hi Derek,.. welcome...
We all like the Savage, of course, and it's not a bad starter bike.  It's also not a bad bike for old timers too...
It's a cheap, simple, reliable, machine, with plenty of personality.
An 87' is an old one, but 14k miles is not a lot.  If you think it's been well taken care of, go for it.

Now, you be careful learning to ride,... okay?...

Shiny side up,... rubber side down... Wink...
Serow

PS... To post pics, you have to put them on a host site, like Bikepics, or Photobucket, (they are free),... then link them in your post here...

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
LostArtist
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 01/31/11 at 22:23:00

for an 87 that has been rebuilt. .  .  I don't know about $1500, but I don't know the guys and 14k miles isn't bad.  some other guys here can tell you more about what to check over, I love custom paint jobs, but they aren't the most important thing on a bike.