Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Newb looking to get talked into a Savage. (Read 359 times)
ThumperS40
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Western NY State
Re: Newb looking to get talked into a Savage.
Reply #15 - 12/15/10 at 19:02:05

I've been a motorcycle mechanic for over 40 years and have my second Savage (S40). Always regretted selling the first one. I am 150# and 5'6" it fits me to a "T". Always a fan of thumpers I enjoy the torque that encourages short shifts and hard throttle roll-ons. Do the carb mods and change the muffler and the improvement is quite satisfying. The Savage is only smallish when compared to modern tanks! In the 60's this would have been an average sized big bike. For my money motorcycling was more fun in the 60's! These bikes are fun at legal speeds. The new ones bore me when ridden sanely.

IP Logged
TheAyudo
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #16 - 12/23/10 at 11:18:49

Took a look at the bike over the Holiday and it looks like it's in great shape.  A shallow dime sized dent on top of the gas tank, and he had trouble starting the bike (he said it was the original battery so I felt this was the most likely culprit).  

However the big discovery was that when he said the bike had 46 miles he didn't mean 4600, he meant 46.  That's under 12 miles a year!  He said he'd give the bike a once over between now and new year's so I'll be taking another look then.

My dad has all the riding experience in the family, so once he okays the handling and braking I'll probably be picking it up (assuming the bike starts).  

IP Logged
babyhog
Serious Thumper

Find a Cure for
Breast Cancer!
 NOW!!

WV
Reply #17 - 12/23/10 at 11:44:48