Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Master Cylinder Sight Window (Read 552 times)
ThumperKat
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

San Antonio, TX
Master Cylinder Sight Window
09/17/10 at 07:41:46

This is my first post, please forgive any ...newness? haha. I have an 86 Savage, and my master cylinder sight window is crystalized and leaking badly. I have tried a cursory fix by applying clear silicone to outside but either I didn't cure long enough or brake fluid was just too much for it.
Has anyone encountered this situation? and if so, your fix? I noticed the parts breakdown shows a 'protector' that looks like it might be the clip on the inside. Can it be replaced? Replacing the master cylinder is not an option at this time.
Thank you in advance for any and all replies!

'86 Savage: Rusty Ruby aka Beater Baby
  IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: Master Cylinder Sight Window
Reply #1 - 09/17/10 at 07:51:11

Brake fluid is notoriously destructive to things. It eats paint & I cant imagine silicone ever holding it. Im gonna say youll need a new reservoir to solve this IF you want to keep that window. If youre willing to lose the window, which I dont suggest, then Id say empty the res, clean the res around the window, silicone an Oring on it & clamp a piece of metal to that Oring. Man, talk about look like crap,, but it should Work. Id only comsider that answer IF I was suck in the middleof nowhere & had to do that to get home.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
babyhog
Serious Thumper

Find a Cure for
Breast Cancer!
 NOW!!

WV
Reply #2 - 09/17/10 at 08:15:32

Here's a place that makes a repair kit for $12.50:
http://www.newrivercyclesalvage.com/sight%20glass.html

I'd try Gorilla Glue and let it cure a long time...   Undecided